Posted in General Posts

Book List for 2017

Do you make a list of books you want to read for the year? I do. I have been doing this for the past several years. I don’t always make it through all the books on the list. The ones that are left unread get rolled over to the next years list or taken off if it no longer seems interesting. I make a list for a number of reasons.

  1.  I’m a compulsive list writer.
  2. There are too many books I want to read with my kids. If I don’t write the titles down, I may forget all about them and miss out on reading a fantastic book!
  3. I have to keep track of the books we read for our homeschooling records. And it’s fun to look back and see all the super awesome books we’ve read.
  4. A list gives you a look at exactly what you are reading. Are you a well rounded reader? Do the books you read inspire you to dive in and learn more? Do you tend to read only science fiction or fantasy? Maybe you should throw some biographies, non-fiction, or mystery genres. Expand your book reading horizons.

Here’s some of the books I have added to my ever expanding read a loud list for 2017.

The Bartimaeus Trilogy – by Jonathan Stroud

The Librarian Series – by Eric Hobbs

The Trumpet of the Swan – by EB White

The Royal Institute of Magic – by Victor Kloss

The Five Kingdoms series – by Brandon Mull

Fablehaven – by Brandon Mull (We read The Beyonders and liked it so we’re trying out his other works)

Redwall – by Brian Jacques

Aretemis Fowl – by Eoin Colfer

The Girl Who Drank the Moon – by Kelly Barnhill

The Indian in the Cupboard – Lynne Reid Banks

The Tale of Despereaux – by Kate DiCamillo

In the Shadow of Man – by Jane Goodall

Island of the Blue Dolphins – by Scott O’Dell

The Sign of the Beaver – by Elizabeth George Speare

Leave a Reply

